TLD’s Seely Battles For Another Top-10 Finish

ST. LOUIS (April 2, 2017) – Troy Lee Designs rider Cole Seely maintained his fourth-place standing in the championship after battling through the technical track inside The Dome at America’s Center to finish sixth. As the series completed its 13th round, the Honda rider has only finished worse than sixth once this season. The track in St. Louis has been known to be tricky and Saturday’s race was no exception. Seely didn’t qualify out of the heat, but used the track time to his advantage as he won the semi. In the main event, Seely got a good jump out of the gate but got hit while getting to the first turn and it slowed his momentum. He came around the first lap in 12th and went to work right away moving into 8th by the end of Lap 2. He was able to move into sixth by the seventh lap and with the conditions so tough Seely rode smart to come away with another great finish in sixth. “It was a tough race and coming through the pack made it more difficult,” said Seely. “I’m happy to have made it up to sixth, but I should have been able to get a better start. We’ll keep gunning for that podium again and hopefully when we go back outdoors next week we’ll be able to show off that speed.” The Monster Energy Supercross has one more round before a weekend off as the series heads to Seattle’s CenturyLink Field on April 8. Seely was feeling patriotic in his GP Liberty Racewear during practice, before switching to the GP Quest Red and White Racewear for the main event. He also wore the SE4 helmet. See more of the 2017 gear sets and the 2017 Moto Helmets online and at your local TLD retailer. 450SX Class Main Event Results
  1. Eli Tomac (Kawasaki)
  2. Ryan Dungey (KTM)
  3. Marvin Musquin (KTM)
  4. Jason Anderson (Husqvarna)
  5. Josh Grant (Kawasaki)
  6. Cole Seely (Honda)
  7. Blake Baggett (KTM)
  8. Broc Tickle (Suzuki)
  9. Malcolm Stewart (Suzuki)
  10. Justin Brayton (Honda)
450SX Class Points, After 12 of 17 Rounds
  1. Ryan Dungey (KTM), 276
  2. Eli Tomac (Kawasaki), 272
  3. Marvin Musquin (KTM), 227
  4. Cole Seely (Honda), 211
  5. Jason Anderson (Husqvarna), 188
  6. Blake Baggett (KTM), 163
  7. Davi Millsaps (KTM), 160
  8. Broc Tickle (Suzuki), 143
  9. Chad Reed (Yamaha), 136
  10. Dean Wilson (Husqvarna), 136
**Images provided by Jeff Kardas