Troy Lee Designs/Red Bull/KTM’s McElrath Dominates at Supercross Season Opener

ANAHEIM, CALIF. (January 6, 2018) Troy Lee Designs/Red Bull/KTM Shane McElrath repeated his opening round performance from a year ago with a dominating win in front of a sold out Supercross crowd at Angel Stadium. From heat race win to holeshot to main event win, McElrath’s day was nearly perfect. Teammate Alex Martin started the day off well, but after going down in the main event was forced to score 21st for the opening race.

It felt like a bit of déjà vu for McElrath who matched his season opener ride from a year ago. After a great ride for the win in his heat race, the North Carolinian launched out to the first holeshot of the year. McElrath never looked back and scored the first win of the season and his fourth career victory.

“We worked really hard in this off season so it feels really good to be up on the podium,” said McElrath. “I had more nerves here at this race than last season. It felt really good to put in laps because the track is really demanding even though it didn’t seem super technical. We have a stacked class this year and it is still early in the season, but we’re ready to battle to Vegas.”

Like his teammate, Martin was able to showcase the speed of the KTM 250SX-F out of the gate as he started up front in both his heat race and the main event. He maintained his position around the top five for most of the race before going down. Martin was unable to return to the race and was tallied 21st.

McElrath and Martin were showing off the all-new SE Air Metric Orange and Navy Jersey and Pant, which was accompanied by the new Metric Helmet. See all of the 2018 gear sets and the 2018 Moto Helmets online and at your local TLD retailer

250SX Class Main Event Results

  1. Shane McElrath (KTM)
  2. Aaron Plessinger (Yamaha)
  3. Adam Cianciarulo (Kawasaki)
  4. Joey Savatgy (Kawasaki)
  5. Christian Craig (Honda)
  6. Mitchell Oldenburg (Yamaha)
  7. Justin Hill (Suzuki)
  8. Chase Sexton (Honda)
  9. Justin Cooper (Yamaha)
  10. Kyle Chisholm (Yamaha)

22. Alex Martin (KTM)

250SX Class Western Region Points Standings

  1. Shane McElrath, KTM, 26
  2. Aaron Plessinger, Yamaha, 23
  3. Adam Cianciarulo, Kawasaki, 21
  4. Joey Savatgy, Kawasaki, 19
  5. Christian Craig, Honda, 18
  6. Mitchell Oldenburg, Yamaha, 17
  7. Justin Hill, Suzuki, 16
  8. Chase Sexton, Honda, 15
  9. Justin Cooper, Yamaha, 14
  10. Kyle Chisholm, Yamaha, 13
  11. 22. Alex Martin, KTM, 2